Energy Speaker Systems EXL S10 Subwoofers user reviews : 4.8 out of 5 - 11 reviews - audioreview.com (2023)

[Dec 24, 2003]

GIORGIO-ACE

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

rich bass,good value for money,great performance with music dvds

Weakness:

none so far

I bought this subwoofer after listening to many subs at the same price range.I have to say that I was quite impressed by its performance.It produses rich bass and it is not at all boomy.I was quite pleased that it matched perfectly with the b&w speakers that I use for front,center and surround at my home cinema.I particularly enjoy the performance of the sub when playing music-dvds and dvd-audio.

Similar Products Used:

b&w front-center-surroundsony amplifieryamaha subwoofer

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
3

[May 01, 2001]

benny c

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

price, tight & deep bass, great for h/t and audio

Weakness:

no High level speaker output terminals (cannot connect other speakers to the sub), front firing

First off, JBL sucks. I tested out the pb12, don't even bother with thing about this sub. I have a pair of klipsch sf-1 floor speakers, I could barely tell the JBL was even plugged in. The klipsch sub is good, and if you are a straight Klipsch fan go for the Ksw-12 (not the Ksw-10, for the money, the 12 blows the 10 away). I liked the ksw-12, the bass was good, and it has high level outputs which I liked. I first dismissed the Energy because it was a tiny 10 inch with a 100 watt amp, but I must congratulate Energy on the production of a fine speaker. The energy blew the klipsch away, and it was less expensive. The bass is constantly tight, deep, and clear. Great for home theater and audio, but better for audio. The thing I like about this sub, is the clarity of low sounds, you dont just hear low toned booms coming from the speaker, you hear differential in the sounds. Energy is musical truth. My next upgrade, will definitely will be the exl-s12 (which has the high end outputs, but for a $325 sub that kicks i really cant complain about high end ouputs). This sub completely kicks all subs in its price range. and rivals those in the $600 to $800 range.

Similar Products Used:

jbl pb12, klipsch ksw12

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

[Nov 26, 2001]

Brian M

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Solid tight bass

Weakness:

None

Great sub! Tight responsive bass. Liked it better than the Klipsch KSW-12.

Similar Products Used:

Klipsch KSW-12

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
4

[Dec 06, 2001]

Torkil Braset

Casual Listener

Strength:

Deep clean and fast bass. Gives a great punch and goes impressively deep considering its size. Comes with both spikes and rubber-knobs. Great for small-medium sized rooms (I use it in a 22 square metered room).

Weakness:

None considering its prize but everything can allways get better.

This is my first sub as a part of my first surrond system. Still I've listened to quite a few others in my persecution of finding the best possible sub in my price-range. Examples: Mission, Yamaha, Sony and Pioneer.

I like:
- Looks nice. Especially good is that it doesn't have a glossy finish like its bigger brother e:XL-S12. Thats just vulgar.
- Auto On/Off.
- The high quality built-in 100 W Mosfet amplifier gives more than enough.
- That it's not to woofy.
- That it's has a fast bass wich make it capable off playing complicated and complex sound images really well. And doesn't only play one tone.
- Goes deep considering its size - 25Hz.
- Easy to place (sound-wise).
- Magnetic shielded. Ideal for close placement home theater applications.

I dislike:
- Nothing really. (but everything can allways get better)

Don't be afraid to buy it.

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

[Jan 22, 2002]

Dan

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Major Guts. Deep, clear bass.

Weakness:

Sensitive to placement

Its a great sub. I have the set of energy speakers to match it. I originally went into my local hifi shop (world wide stereo-great service, love em) looking for the 8" sub. But I ended up with the ten. This is good and bad, because I realize it now that the 8" is quicker, but the 10" has a better sound. But this sub has been great, I listen to everything from classic rock to rap, and it does it all. I have it matched to my energy speakers and it mixes very well. I did however spend a while with the placement to get it right. It has to be away from the wall or else it will be all boom. I prefer a warm full sounding bass rather than a thumping bass and by keeping it away from the wall about 18" I achieved what I wanted. If you want thumping loud boom put it close to the wall. Also, as with all subs don't cheap out on the cable. I used the Monster Subwoofer specific cable and wow what a difference. Starting with the speakers for a year and now the sub, Energy has made me a believer.
My setup:
Onkyo Txds676
Energy e:XL 26's (front)
Energy e:XL C (Center)
Energy e:XL 16's (rears)
Energy e:XLs10 (sub)
(its an amazing setup that I would recommend to anyone)

Similar Products Used:

Infinity, Velodyne

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

[Sep 26, 2001]

Mike Robinson

Audiophile

Strength:

A steal at this price. Although I bought the floor model.

Weakness:

No line out/pass through. This sub looks like it has been discontinued to make room for the new S10.2

I just bought some Energy A3+2's and they sound great, but were lacking deep bass. The e:XL-S10 is a perfect match and blends seamlessly with them. Excellent for movies or music. My wife complains that it rattles the dishes in the kitchen when it's on and turned up a little.

I did notice that you need to set the gain at about 3 for best sound. Much over that and it starts to "chuff". This is common with ported speakers, and one reason I preffer sealed. However, if you keep the volume down to reasonable levels, you'll get nice clean sound that's more than sufficient for a small to medium sized room.

If you can find one at a rock-bottom price, snatch it up before it's gone.

Similar Products Used:

KLH and Pioneer powered subs.

OVERALL
RATING
4

VALUE
RATING
5

[May 02, 2001]

Alan L

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Deep and clean bass

Weakness:

None

This is my first power sub, so I am so excited to hear all good bass from this sub. I have been searching for many sub on the market for the range from 300 - $400 and found out Energy Exl s10 and Paradigm Pdr12 are two good sub.(JBL pb12 is the worst). E xl s10 is good for both music and home theater.

Similar Products Used:

Paradigm PDR12

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

[Apr 22, 2001]

Anthony Barry

Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very Strong, well Built,
Deep clean Bass.

Weakness:

low pass filter sensitive, would be nicer with the Piano gloss finish of the EXls 12

While the cost of this Sub was far more than I imagined I would ever pay( $ 1000.00 New Zealand dollars), But not over the top in comparison to many other makes/models.
What a huge difference this sub makes to just about anything, from watching normal analog TV, to VHS,DVD, and Music(CD's and radio). The sub is connected to a Sony SRDT 545 AV Receiver,(has the same "Hiss" problem as just about everyone else's - awaiting parts from Europe).
I was super impressed with the difference the sub makes to even normal or "pooor quality" VHS movies (1995 recording of "Return of the Jedi").It took me a little time to work out the best positioning in the room, and I also placed the sub on top of some large terracota floor tiles on top of the lounge room carpet(greatly enhanced "feel"). The settings can be sensitive, however after some experementing I am now happy with the levels.

Because my main and rear spekers are the bookshelf type (JBL MX300 70W & Akai 50W)they did not provide very much bass, and movies could sound a little "tinny". If you are considering a Sub that is flexible enough to cover a wide range of entertainment types, this one is great value for money. The staff at the Eastern HiFi shops have also been very helpful, offering great advice,and excellent value for money, and all without being pushy - thanks to Eastern HiFi.

Similar Products Used:

First Sub Woofer

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

[Mar 27, 2001]

Paul

Casual Listener

Strength:

Clean deep sound.

Weakness:

No phase control.

Great deep and clean bass, haven't really played it too loud as I didn't want to rile my neighbors. Listenned to others such as the Yamaha w/2 8" woofers which sounded good almost seamless and the Sony SWM40 12" woofer which sounded boomy and distorted(but, it was priced so cheap at $169 locally in Hawaii,shipping alone would be $50). I picked this Energy sub because I wanted a matching set in the Take 5's.

Similar Products Used:

1st Subwoofer.

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

[Jan 08, 2001]

Vic

Audiophile

Strength:

Excellent, deep, clean bass

Weakness:

auto-shutoff turns off speaker too quickly. may shut down during quiet movie scenes with little/no bass signal

This subwoofer is simply excellent, it blows away everything in the $600 and below range. It even rivals some $1500+ subs i've heard. Subwoofer magazine has the same thoughts on this sub that I do, so we all can't be wrong. Very solid construction with nice controls for setting the crossover frequency, and bass level. The bass is so clean and deep that you wont notice how loud it gets until you hear your glass shelves and windows rattling. I have it hooked up to a Yamaha RX-V995, with the energy take 5 speakers. (the take 5's are decent, however the center channel is a little flat compared to others). This sub has never let me down, and has sounded perfect from day one. It even makes vhs sound awesome. If you want t spend less than $600 (or even $500, for that matter) on a sub, look no further, this is Mecca.

Similar Products Used:

comparably priced klipsh

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

Next 10

Showing 1-10 of 11

FAQs

Which is the best subwoofer in the world? ›

Shop This Guide
  • Sonos. Sub Wireless Subwoofer (Gen 3) ...
  • Sonos. Sub Mini Wireless Subwoofer. ...
  • Klipsch. SPL-150SW 15" Bass-Reflex Subwoofer. ...
  • SVS. SB-1000 Pro 12" 325W Sealed Box Subwoofer. ...
  • SVS. PB-1000 Pro Ported Subwoofer (Black Ash) ...
  • SVS. SB-3000 13" Subwoofer. ...
  • SVS. 3000 Micro Subwoofer with Fully Active Dual 8-inch Drivers. ...
  • Polk Audio.
Jan 17, 2023

How much is energy esw V10? ›

The list price for this 300-watt subwoofer is $800 and if you are looking for a speaker component that brings out detailed and concise low-end while you are playing video games or just for watching your DVD collection, the ESW-V10 might be just what your are looking for.

Which sound system is best for bass? ›

Best speakers with loud bass in India
  • Sony SA-D20 C E12 2.1 Channel Multimedia Speaker System. ...
  • F&D F5060X 135W 5.1 Bluetooth Multimedia Speaker. ...
  • Philips SPA4040B/94 Multimedia Speakers System. ...
  • F&D F3800X 80W 5.1 Bluetooth Multimedia Speaker. ...
  • JBL Professional NANO K4-4. ...
  • Edifier R1280DB Powered Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers.
Jan 17, 2023

Who makes the best sound system in the world? ›

  • Dali Oberon 5 5.1 Speaker Package. You can build a great surround system around this hugely enjoyable package. ...
  • Sonos Arc. ...
  • Wharfedale Diamond 12.1 Home Cinema Pack. ...
  • Sony HT-A9. ...
  • Sonos Beam Gen 2. ...
  • Wharfedale DX-2. ...
  • Sony HT-A7000. ...
  • Q Acoustics 3050i 5.1 Cinema Pack.
Sep 7, 2022

Is Eon a good value? ›

ON (2022) review: Verdict. E. ON wasn't one of the most highly rated suppliers in our survey of energy customers for recommendation, customer service or value for money but performed well on the clarity of its bills and how quickly it responded to customers on the phone and by email.

How much does energy rise octopus? ›

The price change comes into effect from 2nd April 2022. Existing customers on the standard variable tariff (“Flexible Octopus”) will see costs rise to £1921 for a typical user (c. £50 below the price cap and any other large supplier).

Is Octopus energy expensive? ›

You'll get a good price for your energy, it might not be the absolute cheapest out there, it's around average, but you'll be saving the planet with 100% green energy.

How many watts is a good woofer? ›

Any subwoofer with a wattage of 150-500 is best suited for a great music listening experience and is easy on the pocket. A subwoofer can be connected through wired or wireless connectivity. A wired system would be connected to speakers from where it draws the audio.

Is a 10 inch subwoofer good enough? ›

If you're limited when it comes to room size but still want to enjoy quality bass, then 10 inch subs can be a good middle ground. Unlike smaller 8 inch subs for example, a 10 inch subwoofer can provide a good balance between a deep enough frequency response while still being manageable in size.

Does 10 inch subs sound good? ›

A 10-inch subwoofer in a sealed box is perfect for crisp, tight, punchy bass that makes sure you get the right amount of bass for your listening style. If you want to feel the kick drum in Hotel California, a 10-inch subwoofer is perfect.

How many watts is a good speaker? ›

If you like loud uncompressed music and your speakers are 90dB efficient, 200 Watts is likely plenty of power for you. If you only listen to light classical, jazz and don't expect them to rock the house, 50 Watts is adequate. Higher efficiency speakers, like horns, take very few Watts.

What is the best audio for sound quality? ›

What is the best audio format for sound quality? The best audio formats for sound quality are uncompressed or lossless compression files—think WAV, FLAC, and M4A. That's because these formats retain the original sound quality, though you'll have to put up with the fact these files will be large.

What is the No 1 speaker in the world? ›

What Are the Best Speakers In The World?
  • Definitive Technology BP9080X (Our Pick)
  • Salk Silk Monitors (Best Bookshelf Speakers)
  • KEF Q950 Floorstanding Speaker (Best Floorstanding Speakers)
  • JBL M2 Master Reference Monitor.
  • Klipsch R-28PF Surround Sound Floor Standing Speaker.
  • Gershman Acoustics Grand Avant-Garde.

Why is Eon discontinued? ›

Hyundai decided to stop the production itself, instead of investing in its upgrades. This decision was mainly due to the declining sales of the hatchback in the Indian market. The Hyundai Eon was initially available with a 814cc petrol engine producing 55bhp and 75Nm of torque.

How much is Eon exit fee? ›

You can switch tariff or supplier at any time and we won't charge you an exit fee. We'll send a confirmation letter about six weeks before your end date with all the details about the tariff we'll switch you to.

Is Eon a cheap supplier? ›

As a large supplier, Eon energy tariffs include a selection of fixed, variable, pay-as-you-go and prepayment gas and electricity deals. It's fairly priced sat next to its competitors and gets good customer service ratings.

Are Octopus Energy in trouble? ›

Octopus Energy Limited's revenue increased by 57%, growing from £1.2 billion to £1.9 billion. The Group's retail arm saw a £84.7 million operating loss during the year ending April 2021. It however noted that this was due to investment in growth and customer support.

Is Octopus Energy still the best? ›

The renewable energy business also came top of Which?'s overall rankings, with a score of 70% and 4 stars for customer service, payment accuracy, statement clarity and value for money. Octopus Energy has maintained its position as the most awarded energy supplier in 2021.

Why is my Octopus bill so high? ›

Why is there is an unexpectedly high charge on my statement? We know taking meter readings can be a bit fiddly (plus, chances are, you're probably trying to avoid a spider or two). If you see a very unexpected charge on your bill, it's possible the reading you gave was a digit too long, or too short.

Which is the cheapest energy supplier 2022? ›

The best energy suppliers in 2022
  1. Octopus Energy: The ultimate for customer service, value and more. ...
  2. Utility Warehouse: A great service with good complaint numbers and handling. ...
  3. Ovo Energy: One of the best but gets lots of complaints. ...
  4. Bulb Energy: Not as good as it once was but bills are clear.
Oct 10, 2022

Is shell energy better than Octopus? ›

Complaints. While Shell Energy had slightly fewer complaints per 100,000 customer accounts than the industry average, according to the latest data from the energy regulator Ofgem for the second quarter of 2022, it still had a lot more than the best suppliers – Octopus with 662 and Utility Warehouse with 743.

Is Octopus Energy better than Utility Warehouse? ›

Utility Warehouse was highly commended for its customer service in our awards. Some 52% of customers said they were very or fairly satisfied with it, including 30% who said they were very satisfied. This was still a way behind the top provider Octopus, which had 69% of customers saying they were satisfied.

How many watts is a good amp for a subwoofer? ›

If you want the subwoofer system to sound great and last for decades, use a high-quality subwoofer amp and lots of drivers, then under-power the subs. If you have four 500-watt subs, choose a 1,000- to 1,200-watt amp. This will produce lots of bass but will never push the subwoofers near their limits.

Does higher watts mean more bass? ›

How's it measured? Bass, as with most things, demands a comparison of quality vs quantity. More bass does not necessarily mean better bass. The power is determined by the wattage of the subwoofer in question, where a higher wattage demonstrates a more powerful subwoofer.

Is a bigger sub always better? ›

A large driver/big subwoofer is certainly capable of incredible depth and output, but often it is at the expense of speed in transients and tonal accuracy. This means bass can sound powerful yet bloated or “boomy” as opposed to controlled and detailed.

Is it OK to leave subwoofer on all the time? ›

Yes you can leave your subwoofer on all the time as long as it has an auto standby feature. Subwoofers in standby last longer & use less power. Older subwoofers that don't have this function should be turned off when not in use as electricity escapes in the form of heat, causing the amplifier to get hotter than normal.

Which is more powerful woofer or subwoofer? ›

Subwoofers are designed to produce low-pitched audio frequencies from around 20Hz to 200Hz. Woofers, on the other hand, can reproduce sound up to 2500Hz. Subwoofers are typically powered by only 1 driver, while a woofer is powered by multiple. Subwoofers draw much more power due to their focus on lower frequency waves.

Should I get 2 or 4 ohm subwoofers? ›

If you want a louder sound, get a 2 Ohm subwoofer. But if you want a clear and deeper bass effect without any sound distortion, a 4 Ohm subwoofer is your best choice. If you intend to save some of your electricity bills, it is better to go for the 4 Ohm models. These models do not consume much electricity.

Is a higher wattage subwoofer louder? ›

Yes, it's true that the higher the power (watts), the louder and cleaner the speakers will play. Small differences in power, however, don't make much of an audible change. In order to perceptively hear a difference (a 3dB increase), the power would have to double.

Which is the No 1 sound system? ›

#1 Best Speaker in the World 2020: KEF LS50 Wireless Powered Speaker System. The KEF LS50 are high-fidelity speakers designed to deliver an incredible amount of detail and bass.

What subwoofer holds the world record? ›

Alan Dante from Lorton, Virginia, set a new world record on August 31st 2007 in a dB Drag competition with a 180.5dB peak using a single Digital Designs subwoofer. Dante's concrete filled Volvo contained a Digital Designs 9918Z 18″ subwoofer receiving 26,000 watts of power from four Stetsom 7KD amplifiers.

Which subwoofer is best for bass for car? ›

1-24 of 189 results
  • Amazon's Choice. ...
  • JBL A1500Hi 1500W 1 Channel Wired Subwoofer - Black. ...
  • Jbl Gt-X1500Thi 1500W Wired Subwoofer - Black. ...
  • Jbl Gt-X1300Thi 1300W Wired Subwoofer - Black. ...
  • JBL Concert A704-4 Channel Car Amplifier (1000Watts) ...
  • Jbl Gt-X1400Thi 1400W Wired Subwoofer - Black. ...
  • Cave RJ-1012 Subwoofer.

What subwoofer brand hits hardest? ›

The hardest hitting best 10 inch subs is the Planet Audio AC10D ten inch automobile subwoofer. It has a max power output of 1500 watts, with 750 w RMS. Combined with a propylene coil, the AC10D delivers thumping bass frequencies and awesome overall sound.

What is the best sounding audio? ›

What is the best audio format for sound quality? A lossless audio file format is the best format for sound quality. These include FLAC, WAV, or AIFF. These types of files are considered “hi-res” because they are better or equal to CD-quality.

Are 10 inch subs better than 12? ›

This is the number one thing to consider if you are deciding between 10s and 12s. The 12-inch subwoofers handle more power, they play louder, they are boomier, and many people find that they just sound better.

How many decibels is the loudest car system? ›

According to Pretorius, the record for the loudest car in the world is held by their friend Scott van Riper in the US, who achieved 181.5 decibels.

How many watts is a good subwoofer? ›

In fact, a 1,000-watt sub may sound better at "regular" room volumes than a 100-watt sub. Though quite common, 100-watts really isn't that much when we're talking subs. Thanks to digital amplification, 300, 500, and higher wattage subs are quite affordable.

How do I make my subs hit harder? ›

It is recommended that for optimal quality sound, you should place your subwoofer within 8-12 inches of a wall, facing outwards towards the rest of the room. For even more output, consider placing your subwoofer in the corner of your room, as it can significantly increase the overall sound due to the positioning.

References

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Errol Quitzon

Last Updated: 30/11/2023

Views: 5920

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (59 voted)

Reviews: 82% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Errol Quitzon

Birthday: 1993-04-02

Address: 70604 Haley Lane, Port Weldonside, TN 99233-0942

Phone: +9665282866296

Job: Product Retail Agent

Hobby: Computer programming, Horseback riding, Hooping, Dance, Ice skating, Backpacking, Rafting

Introduction: My name is Errol Quitzon, I am a fair, cute, fancy, clean, attractive, sparkling, kind person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.